Thoughts…

I’ve had all sorts of thoughts going through my head lately, which isn’t unusual, of course lol…but I was playing a game the other day where it came to a point in the game where you had to make a choice…the choice was you could bring back your family who had died or all of the innocent people who had died from what happened in game…so of course this was all a game…but it made me stop and think for a bit.

I wondered about that choice after I finished/stopped playing the game still and equating it to real life…was wondering…what would I do…in real life…if a disaster or something happened and my family died as well as many innocent people?

Would I choose to save/bring back my family or all the innocent people who died from a disaster or something like that or what would I do? And that would be a hard choice to make…because I consider my family to be such a big part of my life and so many people are my family…it would definitely be a hard choice.

If in this hypothetical scenario, I brought my family back…then all the innocent people would be lost…but if I brought back all the innocent people, my family would be lost…that was how they said it would be in the game and I applied it to real life in my thinking and thought that would really be a hard choice to have to make, ya know.

I mean, if it was a real life situation and that choice and conditions to that choice applied, then sacrificing your family to save all the innocents would be the noble thing to do, I think…and it would be the Christ like thing to do…but then you wouldn’t have your family. I know a lot of people would choose their family and that is my first instinct that I would choose my family…but at the same time…I realize I’m still learning about sacrifice and all and a part of me would want to choose to save all the innocent people too…so I know I’m still not as perfect or Christ like as I would like to be just yet.

But it does make you stop and think…and especially cause this line of thinking happened to me when this disaster from the earthquake with Haiti is going on and so I was thinking…if you applied that choice to that situation…

If it had to be one or the other, would you choose to save all of Haiti (the innocent people) or would you choose to save your family with the thought that your family was in that disaster in Haiti. Which would you choose to save or bring back if they had died, if you had that choice, all the innocent people or your family? Not the easiest choice to think about making…and really causes you to stop and think…even if it is hypothetical, doesn’t it. I know it did/does for me.

If I had it my way, I’d try to save my family and all the innocents…but the hypothetical choice had conditions and it had to be one or the other…so my instinct was to choose my family…but it would just be too hard if that was a real choice you had to make with that condition of it being one or the other.

It makes me realize how much I’m glad I don’t have to ever have to have the power to make that kind of decision, ya know.

Anyway, hope that made some kind of sense…my little bit of random thoughts there and I am praying for Haiti and all the people affected by this disaster.

