Meet the Robinsons

Yep, I went and saw the movie with Cory last night and I can see both sides…as in I can see both good and bad in the movie regarding adoption.

I can see why some are very disgusted and angry by it and I can see why others enjoyed it and have no problem with it or why some thought it was a good movie regarding adoption.

I, personally, thought the movie was alright.  I didn’t get upset or angry by it and some may not see why I feel or think that way or agree with  me, but I respect their right to feel angry about it so I would hope they’d respect my right to not feel angry about it.

It did cause a little bit of mixed emotions for me, but my personal situation with placing both my girls was different.  I didn’t leave them on the doorstep of an orphanage, I placed them in the arms of their loving families and their families are loving and wonderful.  I felt sad for Lewis in the movie when he wasn’t adopted and kept waiting to find his family, my heart ached for him and my heart ached for that mother when she placed her little boy on the doorstep of the orphanage.

I can only imagine what it would be like or how hard for a mother to place their child on the doorstep of an orphanage or what circumstances might cause them to do that.  The movie did get me teary eyed in places and I did bite my lip a few times trying to keep from crying because I didn’t want to particularly cry in front of Cory or in the theater last night.

Most of all, this movie made me think and brought some questions to mind that I think are interesting to ponder and after seeing that movie, I wonder even more about what an adoptee’s opinion of this movie is and their thoughts on some of these things.  I know it’s probably different when you’re an adoptee who was placed with a family from birth then an adoptee/orphan who waited to be adopted for years like Lewis did, but really I would think that adoptees would maybe be more impacted by this movie on different levels than me as a mother who’s placed.  That’s just my personal opinion, of course, but I would like to hear from adoptees what they thought or felt if they’ve seen this movie.

One thing that I thought about after seeing this movie was this hypothetical question…If I were in Lewis’s shoes (an adoptee/orphan), would I choose to see my mother who placed me or would I choose to leave things as they were thus choosing to keep my future family and my future child as it seemed to be portrayed in the movie.  I mean if Lewis had seen his mother then it was almost positive that his son/future son who came to help him set things straight would not have existed so how would you choose, if you knew, between your seeing your mother/ birth mother and your future family/children?  It’s just an interesting thought provoking question I’ve wondered about since last night.  So, what do you think about that…if anything.

Also another thing I thought of from that movie that keeps playing over and over in my head was the phrase of “let go of the past and keep moving forward” because I think that’s something I personally needed to hear and need to keep working on myself.  It’s a very true statement in a lot of respects for a lot of things, ya know especially for me, personally.  Of course, that phrase is sometimes easier said than done, but it is what it is.

And I love the soundtrack from that movie, I loved it even before I saw it…but now I like it even more…

Here are the lyrics to the song – I’ve had it on repeat for a while now because it speaks to me somehow…ya know.


“Little Wonders” by Rob Thomas
let it roll right off your shoulder
don’t you know
the hardest part is over
let it in,
let your clarity define you
in the end
we will only just remember how it feels

our lives are made
in these small hours
these little wonders,
these twists & turns of fate
time falls away,
but these small hours,
these small hours still remain

let it slide,
let your troubles fall behind you
let it shine
until you feel it all around you
and i don’t mind
if it’s me you need to turn to
we’ll get by,
it’s the heart that really matters in the end

our lives are made
in these small hours
these little wonders,
these twists & turns of fate
time falls away,
but these small hours,
these small hours still remain

all of my regret
will wash away some how
but i can not forget
the way i feel right now

in these small hours
these little wonders
these twists & turns of fate
these twists & turns of fate
time falls away but these small hours
these small hours, still remain,
still remain
these little wonders
these twists & turns of fate
time falls away
but these small hours
these little wonders still remain

It’s a new adoption song in my collection now because it speaks volumes to me, personally.  Anyway, that’s just some of my rambling and random thoughts so far about the movie and things.  I have my mind on other personal things right now so if I forgot anything then I’ll write more later =).

I hope everyone’s doing good and having a good week =).

