I’m so annoyed!!!

I thought I had everything worked out and figured out for moving next week, but I guess I don’t.

I’m not sure if I do or not at this moment anyway.  I just was checking things on my college’s website earlier today in the afternoon to see when I could go check in and see my apartment so I could decide what to take and move up there with me. 

Well, lo and behold, while I’m checking the website, guess what I find, ooo, made me so upset, they’ve assigned me a freakin roommate!!!  Now, I know, some of you probably think that’s no big deal, but it is to me.

The thing is that they told me and led me to believe I had a one bedroom apartment that I was going to be living in by myself all this time.  I asked them if I had roommates or not in one e-mail and they told me I shouldn’t have roommates and we exchanged some other e-mails and info between myself and the stupid housing office that seemed pretty straight forward to me in saying that I’d be in a one bedroom apartment by myself.

Now, all of a sudden, they’ve assigned me a roommate.  Of course, it’s not anyone I know considering I don’t know a lot of people where I’m going to school yet anyway, but ooo I’m so upset. 

Oh and I was really ticked off earlier when I first discovered this crap so I e-mailed the stupid housing office about it to try to figure out what was going on.  Now, get this, this upset me even more, they sent me a reply to my e-mail asking what the heck was going on because they’d told me and led me to believe I was going to be by myself in a one bedroom apartment and their reply was I’m sorry for the misunderstanding, but we don’t rent out any apartments without having at least two people in them. 

Then they said and really we don’t even rent out any single/studio apartments at all so I’m sorry for the misunderstanding.  But it was like the tone of their reply in the e-mail and all that it was like I felt like/got the impression they were really saying, well, I’m sorry, but I don’t even know where you’d get that idea from anyway.  Um, hello, stupid housing people, you gave me that idea!!! 

My parents and family that read and heard what I’d said and had been told in reply even thought and were led to believe I’d be in a one bedroom apartment by myself – stupid, idiotic housing people – so freakin annoying!!!

So, where does that leave me?  Well, besides majorly ticked and irritated at the stupid housing people for misleading and misrepresenting things to me, it leaves me with a few options, but not necessarily the options I would like to have.

Okay so all the options aren’t that bad and something could work and not be a total disaster.  Although I am very much against staying in my present situation rooming with a stranger and such, not necessarily because I’m against having a roommate, but rather because I don’t really want to be involved in any more dealings with these stupid housing people now.  I want out and away from these dumb housing people so I’m having to see if I can find something else and what I can do on top of everything else at the last minute this week now.  Oh, what fun for me.

I have found out what I would have to do to cancel my contract and leave my present planned living arrangements.  I am waiting for some more answers to questions from the dumb housing office also though.  I also have found a few options so far of other more appealing, seemingly better places/situations I’d rather live in though.

I’ve found a few other apartments I could live in off campus, but I’d have to share, but I’d have my own bedroom and bathroom and access to laundry in the apartment.  I won’t have my own bathroom or access to laundry in the apartment in the housing I’m suppose to be in unless I change. 

I’ve also found a few possible apartment communities to call and check with that might have some studio/one bedroom apartments available that would be my ideal choice if I could switch to that, but we’ll have to see.  I’m also planning to see if I can check on some things or find anything else out tomorrow after church.

I’ll be contacting the stupid housing people again on Monday by e-mail, phone and possibly in person also.  I plan to go to the college to talk to them in person, see what I can figure out and go around the town to see if I can find other available apartments that I haven’t found online.  I’ll probably also pick up a local newspaper and such while I’m there and see what more I can find.

I’m going to do whatever I can to figure some other living arrangements out that would work better for me than what the stupid housing people have assigned.  I have a week, not much time, but it’s something and there should be something that I can find.  I should be able to figure or work something out this week so it’ll all work out in the end by the time school starts next week, but I don’t enjoy the added major stress I have now with dealing with this added task along with all the other things I have to do too.

Stupid, freakin, annoying housing people is all I have to say right now – argh!!!

3 comments on “I’m so annoyed!!!

  1. Good luck with the emails. I would think that if you can prove that they told you you would be in a single they’d have to give your roommate to someone else! I’m glad your dad is going, too. It always helps, even if it’s just moral support, to have someone there with you while you go to battle! I personally don’t like living with people. I like things in my home to be a certain way – I’m very organized, so I’ve found that roommates make my life stressful. GL!

  2. Yes, I completely agree that they suck big time! I did look to see if I have the previous e-mails and I don’t have all of them, but I do have some. I was mad at myself for not saving more of the e-mails :p.

    I’m planning to take what I can though as evidence etc. and I’m taking my Dad with me too because he was also led to believe the same as me and well. My Dad’s my witness person to back me up. He’s good at talking and helping work things out with stupid people like this. He seriously has a talent for it and he’s been an apartment owner/manager for years so he knows things that could help so I’m taking him with me to go talk to them and to see what I need to do to get out of this contract tomorrow.

    If all else did fail, I probably would try to stick to the original plan with this roommate while I tried to figure something else out. I would think having investigated some more today though that I should be able to work something else out now.

    I found a whole bunch more listings for available apartments that were studio/one bedroom and close to campus too. I’ve also found a few more options of sharing an apartment with people that would be better than this assigned housing arrangement they screwed me over with.

    So, it appears that there’s no shortage of available one bedroom apartments with the living arrangement the way that I would prefer. It just leaves the task of talking to these stupid housing people to get out of my contract so I can pick and move into one of these other one bedroom apartments this week.

    I would think that there would be some other students wanting housing on campus though so I think I should be able to find a way to get out of this contract. Something should work out and if all else fails I’d be stuck in this other living situation for a few months before I could go somewhere else.

    Colleges can be so freakin irritating when they screw you over and mess you up like this! Oh and I can totally relate about the financial aid and payments – I’ve had that mess with colleges too.

    Overall, things look and feel much more promising today then they did yesterday.  I don’t know, somehow things just feel better, more promising and I feel more positive and confident in something working out that I’ll be okay with.

  3. Anne! These people suck! Do you still have the emails they previously sent you? If you do, print them and bring them with you when you go talk to these people. I hope you find something you can be okay with, too. If all else doesnt work out, are you going to go with the roommate till you can find something better? I hate when colleges screw things up (like not letting you know if you’re getting financial aid or not… and payment is less than a week from being due!).

Comments are closed.