Egyptian Intrigue

From Monday, May 22, 2006

For a long time, I've always been intrigued by Egypt, Egyptian mythology, and basically almost anything to do with Egypt.

I just went to the library the other day and checked out a couple books to read for fun in my spare time. One of the books I checked out was a book that has to do with Egypt and Egyptian Mythology. I know, big surprise, huh.

I find myself so fascinated with Egypt and wanting to know about it, it's history, mythology and things that sometimes it makes me wonder. This fascination with Egypt makes me wonder sometimes if there's something more behind why I'm drawn to Egypt and wanting to know it so. I haven't been able to pinpoint a reason that seems to be a substantial enough reason for my fascination with Egypt yet and the way I get so drawn and lose myself in everything I read to do with Egypt is something fascinating in and of itself as well.

I can't explain – it's just that I've started reading this fictional book that has to do with Egypt that I checked out from the library and I am so intrigued and engrossed in it, that it amazes me. It amazes me that I could be so engrossed and involved in this book that I'm reading – it seems like something deeper in a way at times. Perhaps there is more of a connection or reason why I'm drawn to wanting to know about Egypt than simply my eagerness to gain knowledge about it. Could there be something more to my interest in Egypt or is it all just in my head?

If I believed in reincarnation, I might think I'd been alive in Egypt as an Egyptian princess or something in a past life because of this interest of mine with Egypt, but I don't believe in reincarnation. Not only do I not believe in it, I know, for myself, that it isn't true so I know I was never an Egyptian princess or anything, but perhaps there could be something more, something deeper to my interest in some way, on some level. I don't know, maybe I'll figure it out one day and maybe I won't.

Perhaps it's one of those things best left alone for the time being and just some of my late night/early morning rambles I often do here. Though I tend to have the thought still crossing my mind that maybe my being drawn to Egypt has a deeper meaning or reason, perhaps something to do with my life and my religion. I suppose I'll find the answers one day to these questions, thoughts and ramblings of mine.

Yet, in the back of my mind, another thought is there that maybe I'm drawn to Egypt and learning about it because there is something there to be found by me. An answer, a key to something in my life…something…perhaps…then again I could just be rambling like a strange person late at night.

One day, I will probably know and perhaps tomorrow I will wake up and read this and think I must have been out of my mind, we'll see.

I've had these random thoughts going around in my head for a day or two now. I had to write them down and try to make sense of them so I'll leave at that, that we'll see.

